Estimated reading time: 1 minute

As Antarctica is not under the jurisdiction of any country, no one in the frozen continent will ask for papers from any traveler.

However, it is necessary to have a passport in order to travel to Antarctica, since to reach the frozen continent you usually fly first in Argentina (Ushuaia), New Zealand (Christchurch), or Stanley (under the jurisdiction of the United Kingdom).

To enter the United Kingdom, the only Spanish-speaking citizens who do not need a visa (because they belong to the EU) are the Spanish ones.

Travel to Argentina does not require a visa, for stays shorter than 90 days for citizens of Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Chile, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Spain, Uruguay, and Venezuela.

To enter New Zealand, there is no visa for stays less than three months for citizens of Argentina, Chile, Mexico, Spain, and Uruguay.

If you want to find out about the access roads to Antarctica, check out our article on this topic: Access roads to Antarctica.

[Photo from Pixabay]